RNCM Conductor Signed by Hazard Chase

30 June 2014

Conductor Alpesh Chauhan has been signed for general management by Hazard Chase. The news comes just months after the 24-year-old, who has just finished his postgraduate studies at the RNCM, was selected as the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra’s first Conducting Fellow. James Brown, Managing Director of Hazard Chase, said: ‘I am delighted to welcome […]

Read More

Alumna Takes Lead Role at Junior Trinity

19 June 2014

RNCM alumna Tabby Estell has been appointed Head of Junior Trinity, replacing Marion Friend who retires this summer. Tabby, who graduated in 1993, has worked in music education for over 20 years including managing the pioneering education programme at the London Sinfonietta and as Director of Education and Community at the London Philharmonic Orchestra. In […]

Read More

RNCM’s 2014 Gold Medal Winners

16 June 2014

The RNCM held its ninth Gold Medal Competition on Saturday featuring 10 of the College’s finest performers and four of its aspiring young composers. This year’s winners were Russian postgraduate pianist Alexander Panfilov, who studies with Graham Scott; Welsh postgraduate pianist Leanne Cody, who studies with Peter Lawson; undergraduate percussionist Delia Stevens, who studies with […]

Read More

Cirtina Makes History in New York

11 June 2014

Undergraduate trombonist Josh Cirtina has become the first UK student to win the George Roberts Bass Trombone Competition. Held earlier this month in Rochester, New York, the competition is open to trombonists under the age of 18 and forms part of the International Trombone Association Festival (ITA); an annual event comprising solo and ensemble competitions, […]

Read More

RNCM Professorships for Top Brass Musicians

9 June 2014

Two leading figures in the world of brass have been granted the title of Professor (Personal Chair) by the RNCM. Steven Mead, a Tutor in Euphonium and Baritone Horn (pictured), and Dr Nicholas Childs, Principal Conductor and Musical Director of Black Dyke Band, both received the honour last month in recognition of their outstanding contribution to the […]

Read More