Douglas Jarman

Tutor in Academic Studies


Tutor Emeritus

Professor Jarman is internationally acknowledged as one of the world’s authorities of the music of the Second Viennese School. His seminal book The Music of Alban Berg appeared in 1979, since when he has been the author of two books and some two dozen articles on Berg, as well as books on Kurt Weill and, as editor, on Expressionism. His recent critical edition of the Berg Violin Concerto was published by Universal Edition, Vienna as part of the Alban Berg Gesamtausgabe. His recent publications include Henze at the RNCM (1998) and The Twentieth Century String Quartet (2000). His new critical edition of the Berg Chamber Concerto was published by Universal Edition and the Alban Berg Stiftung in 2005, receiving the Deutscher Musikeditionpreis for 2005. In 2008 he was awarded the title of Emeritus Professor at the RNCM.

At the RNCM he has supervised a wide range of research projects and his particular interest is to support those students whose studies focus on historical and analytical issues in twentieth century music. 

Research Supervision

Rosamund Cole (AHRC Studentship), ‘The New German Style: Wagner, Mahler, Strauss and Beyond’ (Second supervisor)


    Chapters in Books

  • ‘Rememberance of things that are to come: Some reflections on Berg’s palindromes’, in Alban Berg and his World, ed. by Christopher Hailer, ( Princeton University Press, 2010), pp.195-222.
  • Journal Articles

  • ‘Some Notes on the Composition of Berg’s Kammerkonzert’, Alban Berg Studien, VI (2008), 12-33.
  • Review Articles

  • ‘Berg en de Weense traditie’/ ‘Berg et la tradition viennoise’, Lulu, De Munt/La Monnaie, 2012, Brussels