What's On

Opera North: Arya Sitar Concerto

RNCM in association with Opera North

Opera North (web)

Jasdeep Singh Degun Arya
– Interval – 
Giuseppe Verdi Prelude to La traviata
W A Mozart Priests’ Chorus from The Magic Flute
Henry Purcell Dido’s Lament and chorus ‘With drooping wings’
Giacomo Puccini Humming Chorus from Madama Butterfly
Jean Sibelius The Swan of Tuonela
Vaughan Williams Serenade to Music

Harish Shankar conductor
Jasdeep Singh Degun composer / sitar

Conducted by Harish Shankar, the Orchestra and Chorus of Opera North join forces for this wide-ranging and powerful concert. At its heart is a newly commissioned concerto, Arya, from composer and sitar virtuoso Jasdeep Singh Degun, in which the complex rhythms and gorgeous melodies of Indian classical raag strike up conversations with the orchestra, as the sitar by turns draws in, creates quickfire exchange with and finally comes harmoniously together with the orchestra.

Arya is a product of Opera North’s first Resonance residency programme. Launched in 2017 and supported by the PRS Foundation, it offers professional BAME composers and musicians based in the North of England and working in any musical genre the opportunity to develop new performance ideas. Fast forward to 2020 and we’re delighted to present original work that has sprung out of this initiative.