What's On

Ragazze Quartet: Fellow Travellers

Original Voices

Ragazze String Quartet

Anton Dvořák String Quartet No 12 in F major Op 96 ‘American’
John Adams John’s Book of Alleged Dances
Béla Bartók String Quartet No 5

Rosa Arnold, Jeanita Vriens violin
Annemijn Bergkoee viola
Rebecca Wise violoncello

The skyscrapers of New York City spring up in our Concert Hall during this programme featuring the work of three composers who followed their dreams in the USA: Dvořák, the fortune hunter; Adams, who crossed the continent in search of inspiration; Bartók, the refugee.

The land of infinite possibilities – but is it really? Neither Bartók nor Dvořák could find happiness there, despite their fame overseas. But no one can deny the impact of seeing the Manhattan skyline for the very first time…

The Netherlands-based Ragazze Quartet is firmly grounded in the classical music tradition but always works with artists in complementary disciplines. In Fellow Travellers, they’ll be pursuing their own American Dream against a photographic backdrop of the cityscape by scenographer Felipe Gonzales Cazebas which evolves from the 19th century to the present day as the performance unfolds.

Their biggest strength is an added quota of spontaneity, which keeps you consistently engaged.’ Gramophone

Part of the RNCM Original Voices series.