Manchester Camerata and RNCM Chamber Orchestra

Return to Manchester Camerata and RNCM Chamber Orchestra


Grażyna Bacewicz Divertimento
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart Piano Concerto in A major K 488

Antonín Dvořák Symphony No 7 in D minor Op 70 

Agata Zając conductor
Ethan Gillespie piano

Manchester Camerata
RNCM Chamber Orchestra 

The RNCM is committed to reducing its carbon footprint. We’re proud of what we’ve achieved so far but know we need to do more as we work to create a more sustainable world. One way we can make a huge difference is to minimise the number of printed programmes and free sheets we produce each season.

This is why we’ve decided to move away from mass produced, single use print for most of our events, offering an online programme of up-to-date information instead. Additionally, many of our concerts now include a personal introduction by members of staff and students, which gives insight into the repertoire performed as well as an opportunity to get to know our community a little more.   

Where printed programmes are still required, such as RNCM Opera performances and end of term showcases, content is thoughtfully produced using limited resources. An online option is also available for those wishing to support our mission.

We always welcome feedback from our audience members and would like to thank everyone who has supported our mission so far.


Agata Zając

Agata Zając (Junior Fellow) is a Polish symphonic and opera conductor. She started her musical path as a violinist, and then completed her conducting studies at the Poznań Academy of Music. Currently, she is a D.A. student at the Academy of Music in Kraków under the guidance of Łukasz Borowicz. In the 2022/23 season she becomes the Mills Williams Junior Fellow in Conducting at the Royal Northern College of Music. During her short career she has worked with many orchestras in Poland and abroad, including Grazer Philharmoniker, Orchestre national de Metz, Malta Philharmonic Orchestra, Greek National Radio Orchestra Orchestra, Warsaw Chamber Opera or Poznań Philharmonic. She has participated in conducting masterclasses with Jaap van Zweden, Johannes Schlaefli, Mark Heron, Peter Eötvös, and Marin Alsop as teachers. She was a student of the Gstaad Conducting Academy 2021 and a finalist of many international competitions and auditions.

Ethan Gillespie

Ethan Gillespie is a British pianist, composer and arranger currently studying at the Royal Northern College of Music in Manchester. He began his studies at the City of Edinburgh Music School under the tutelage of Simon Coverdale and was awarded the school’s prestigious Hope-Scott Trust Award for Music upon graduation. While at the school, composition played a key role in his musical development with him notably writing an elegy in memory of the renowned Scottish musician, and former pupil of the school, Martyn Bennett. In September 2019, Ethan began his undergraduate studies at the RNCM in the class of Richard Ormrod and was awarded the Shirley Cattarall Award for Piano upon completion of his first year of study. He went on to win the college’s Concerto Competition in 2022 performing Mozart’s Piano Concerto No. 23. Ethan enjoys performing an eclectic mix of musical styles and frequently collaborates with other instrumentalists and singers in both solo and ensemble settings.

Orchestra Personnel

Tom Aldren *
Christina Maxfield
Stewart Webster *
Beth McAlister
Lemoni Frary
Gemma Humphries
Jonathan Storer *
Richard Dunne

Gemma Bass *
Rory Masterson
Eun-Joo Yoon *
Emma Robinson
Roman Lytwyniw *
Ellie Marks

Catherine Yates *
Michaela Jones
Rosalyn Cabot *
Matthew Hayes

Hannah Roberts *
Susannah Roman
Graham Morris *
Hermione Smith

Dan Storer *
Sara Banks

Sarah Whewell *
Jessie-May Wilson

Matthew Jones *
Mariam Jackson

Daniel Bayley *
Josh Pyman

Georgina Powell *
Beatriz Carvalho

Dave Tollington *
Emily Douglas
Robert Newth *
Molly Bielecki

Tracey Redfern *
Charlotte Nuta

Beth Calderbank *
Rachel Wong
Benjamin Copsey

Sharon Fung

Manchester Camerata *