RNCM Wind Orchestra with Steven Mead (euphonium)


Due to unforeseen circumstances, Mikhail Nemtsov is unable to perform Luis Serrano Alarcon’s Cello Concerto as previously advertised. We are grateful to soloist Steven Mead for stepping in at short notice to perform Joseph Horovitz’s Euphonium Concerto.

Soloist Steven Mead joins RNCM students to honour the late Joseph Horovitz in a performance of his Euphonium Concerto, in this exhilarating programme of contemporary works for wind orchestra.

Anna Thorvaldsdottir into – Second Self
Nelson Jesus Porto de Saudades
Sam Longbottom Melt into it (world première)
Anna Thorvaldsdottir Sequences


Joseph Horovitz Euphonium Concerto
Kenneth Hesketh Diaghilev Dances

Mark Heron, Xinjie Yang, Anna Beresford, Phil Trudgeon conductors
Steven Mead euphonium

This concert will include an interval and will end at approximately 9.30pm.

Steven Mead - Biography

Steven Mead is known as one of the worlds leading brass soloists, having played with many of the world’s finest wind and brass bands and orchestras.

His sensational career as a professional soloist continues at an astonishing pace, and with over seventy five solo performances a year, his relentless schedule sees him touring almost constantly.

He is Professor of Euphonium at the Royal Northern College of Music and also at teaches at several specialist schools across Europe, including Augsburg University and the Milan Conservatory.

His remarkable solo career followed on from success he achieved as a member of several of the UK’s leading brass bands, including the Desford Colliery Band in the mid 80’s when they won a hat trick of victories in the National Brass Band Championships.

He has played solo concerti with symphony orchestras in Norway (Trondheim Symphony Orchestra) , Finland (Lahti Symphony Orchestra cond.Osmo Vänskä, and Helsinki Philharmonic cond. Elgar Howarth), Poland (Capella Cracoviensis), USA, Canada, Italy, Japan, and Lithuania.

He has also given concert tours and recorded with several leading professional chamber ensembles in Europe, including Sound-Inn-Brass, Spanish Brass, Trombonisti Italiani, London Brass and is a founder member of the Brass Band of Battle Creek.

As an innovator for the whole  ‘low brass’  world in general, he has organised all six of the National Tuba Euphonium Conferences , held in the UK, and was Artistic Director of the next International Euphonium Tuba Conference,  held in Austria in June 2012.

His innovation is also evident with his premiere performances of  new concerti and major works by Martin Ellerby, Philip Sparke, Torstein Aagaard Nilsen, Tadeusz Kassatti, John Reeman, Derek Bourgeois, Vladimir Cosma, Thomas Dos, Howard Snell to name but a few.

He has been described as one of the world’s most recorded solo brass artists with over 75 CDs to his credit. Several of these CDs have won major international awards.

He is the owner of the music label, Bocchino Music which now produces and distributes his albums. In recent years he has also produced CDs for major labels including Naxos.

Steven has been the Artistic Director of the Jeju International Wind Ensemble Festival, South Korea (2013-2020) and is currently also Artistic Director of the Bolsover International Brass Band Summer School.

Steve is also owner of the popular low brass web store.

Steven has been an artist, designer and clinician with Besson for many years, and is acclaimed for his contribution to the success of the Besson euphoniums.

In recent years he has also been increasingly sought after as an adjudicator and conductor.

Copyright: Besson

RNCM Wind Orchestra Personnel

Jessica PunLaiYuen

Sarah Canzonetta, Jessie-May Wilson, Charlotte Ballard, Jessica Carr

Matthew Jones

Lizzy Russell, Caiwei Luo, Emma Chan

Laurel Saunders

Ella Sehringer, Thomas Knollys, Lauren Ellis, Nathan Kenworthy, Yuxuan Wang, Yuting Cao

Grace White, Robyn Saunders

Carys Nunn, Matthew Hodson

Jos Cole

Ben Jackson, Dan Gribbin

Theo Puddu, Leonardo Bizzotto

Bia Carvalho

Samuel Nutt, Ziying Chen, Chak Hin Lo, Cecily Obrien

Gray Tracy, Matthew Kenny, Isabel Thompson, Charlotte Nuta, Will Bird

Anna Wileman, Alex Barron

James HuntRoss McDonnellAsa Riley

Ben Whitehead, Matt Lait

Hoi Kwong

Changqing Miao, Luna Chang, Harriet Rhind, Callum Walton

Paula Lopez-Atanet

Angharad Huw

Joana Moura