2022 RNCM Creative Innovator Award-Winners

Congratulations to students Edane Ng, Ammal Bhatia, Chris Hardy, Pablo Sonnaillon and string quartet Vulva Voce, winners of the 2022 RNCM Creative Innovators Awards.

Generously supported by Yamaha, this annual award (formerly the RNCM Entrepreneurship Award) recognises students who excel in creative ambition and entrepreneurship.

14 finalists (presenting eight projects) took part in this year’s event, pitching their business ideas and artistic ventures to panel members Sacha Lord (Night Time Economy Adviser for Greater Manchester and Co-Founder Warehouse Project/Parklife), Charlotte Edgeworth (Director of Diversity, Inclusion, and Social Impact at Sony Music Entertainment), James Sargeant (Institutional Business Manager, Yamaha Music Group), and Leslie Kwan (American harpsichordist, founder of The Monarch Network, and RNCM Governor).

Five winners were then chosen in total, each receiving a monetary prize to support their exciting initiatives. Hannah McCabe, Fellow in Creative and Professional Practice, said: ‘The panel were extremely impressed with the creativity and diversity of each project and with the impressive standard of pitches and responses on the day. Everyone who took part is a fantastic ambassador for the RNCM and we’re all very excited to follow their next steps.’

Professor Linda Merrick, Principal, added: ‘Many congratulations to everyone involved in this year’s RNCM Creative Innovators Awards. This is a very important initiative, and it is wonderful to see such extensive and exciting work taking place. I wish you all every success as you take your projects forward to the next stage and look forward to seeing and hearing the outcomes in due course.’

2022 Results

Edane Ng (for Healing our Child Within): RNCM Creative Innovator Award £2000
Ammal Bhatia (for Carne Ensemble): Yamaha Entrepreneurship Award  £1000
Julia Sandros-Alper, Nadia Eskandari, Lucy McLuckie and Georgina MacDonell Finlayson (for Vulva Voce): RNCM Creative Innovator Award £750
Chris Hardy (for Woodwind Workshop): RNCM Creative Innovator Award £750
Pablo Sonnaillon (for The Dryad): RNCM Creative Innovator Award £500

Congratulations also go to this year’s runners-up: Jemima Gray, Hannah Seymour, Sinead Walsh, Charlie Harris, Lavender Rodriguez and Billy Lancaster.

Learn more about studying at the RNCM.

29 June 2022