Heath Quartet Wins Gramophone Chamber Award

The RNCM’s Heath Quartet has won the Chamber Category of the 2016 Gramophone Awards for its recordings of Tippett’s String Quartets for Wigmore Hall Live.

The ensemble, comprising violinists Oliver Heath and Cerys Jones, violist Gary Pomeroy and cellist Chris Murray, were shortlisted alongside recordings by Xavier Phillips and François-Frédéric Guy, Renée Fleming (soprano) and the Emerson Quartet, the Artemis Quartet, the Fitzwilliam Quartet and James Boyd (viola), and Quatuor Ebène and Gautier Capuçon (cellist).

The Gramophone Classical Music Awards ceremony took place on Thursday 15 September and was streamed live by medici.tv. The stream will be free to watch at gramophone.co.uk/awards for the next 60 days.


19 September 2016