RNCM 2018 Gold Medal winners

The RNCM held its Gold Medal Competition on Saturday 23 June featuring 10 of the College’s finest performers and four of its leading young composers, who wrote new works for string quartet.

Adjudicated by Emma Bloxham (Editor, BBC Radio 3), Manus Carey (Director of Performance, RNCM), Joe Cutler (composer), Professor Linda Merrick (Principal, RNCM) and Ben Rayfield (Managing Director, Rayfield Allied), this year’s winners were pianists Anna Denisova and Maxim Kinasov, cellist Waynne Kwon, and composer Michael Brailey.

Professor Merrick said: ‘The RNCM’s much-coveted Gold Medal celebrates exceptional performance and composition by students at the College. Each year the competition is extremely high and 2018 was no exception. The overall standard was absolutely exceptional and everyone who competed, especially the four winners, should be very proud of their achievement.’

The other 2018 competitors were: Hannah Corcoran (saxophone), Yuan Gong (cello), Daniel Hayes (bass-baritone), Luke Jones (piano), Irene Jiménez Lizcan (flute), Thomas Mathias (violin), Kimberley Raw (soprano), and composers Elspeth Brooke, Carmel Smikersgill and Amir Sadeghi Konjani.

25 June 2018