RNCM 2020 and 2021 Congregation of Awards

Our Congregation of Awards for 2020 and 2021 took place on 1 and 2 December.

After the pandemic postponed last year’s ceremony, the two-day event provided a great opportunity for recent graduates to reunite and celebrate their success with friends and family.

Students in masks at graduation

It also saw the presentation of Companionship of the RNCM to Nicholas Prettejohn, who stepped down as Chair of the RNCM Board of Governors last year after three terms in post, alongside a number of RNCM Fellowships and Honorary Memberships to distinguished musicians, educators, industry leaders and advocates.

For 2020, Fellowships were awarded to Roland Böer, Graham Gouldman, Professor Denis Herlin, Dame Ann Murray DBE and Professor Peter Tornquist, with Paul Hynes and John Summers OBE receiving Honorary Membership. For 2021, Fellowships were presented to David Owen Norris and Kathryn Stott, with Honorary Memberships going to Katie Kinder, Sir Alan Langland and David Roper.

Graham Gouldman sitting with guitar

After receiving his Fellowship on Wednesday, singer, songwriter and producer Graham Gouldman (above) took part in a Q&A in Studio 1. He chatted about his career, answered questions on songwriting from Popular Music students, and played classics including No Milk Today, Bus Stop and I’m Not in Love.

13 December 2021