RNCM honours inspirational alumni

Twelve of the RNCM’s most inspirational and supportive alumni will be awarded with a new accolade at this year’s Congregation of Awards.

A4 Brass Quartet, cellists Abel Selaocoe and Mikhail Nemtsov, pianists Alexander Panfilov and Alexandra Dariescu, bassoonist Andres Yauri, composers Daniel Kidane and Tom Harrold, conductor and repetiteur James Hendry, vocalists Kathryn Rudge (mezzo-soprano) and Soraya Mafi (soprano), and percussionist Le Yu will be become Associates of the RNCM (ARNCM) at the annual graduation ceremony in December.

Abel Selaocoe playing the cello

Abel Selaocoe

A first for the College, ARNCM is conferred upon recent alumni who have demonstrated notable achievement in the early stages of their careers in music and demonstrate the potential to make a significant contribution to their chosen profession.

Kathryn Rudge

Professor Linda Merrick, Principal, said: ‘It is an honour and privilege to present this prestigious award to such an incredible and inspirational group of young musicians. Their contribution to the College and their continued support to RNCM students past and present is invaluable. All 12 have achieved so much since graduating and I am looking forward to developing our relationship and to seeing their careers flourish even further in the years ahead.’

Tom Harrold, composer

To learn more about what our alumni are achieving both on and off stage, visit the Meet Our Alumni section of our website.

15 February 2021