Martin Harlow

Vice Principal (Academic)

BA(Dunelm), MPhil(Sheffield), PhD(Sheffield), Dip.NCOS, ARCM, FRNCM


  • Learning and Teaching Strategy implementation (Chair: Learning and Teaching Committee)
  • Development of taught programmes (UG and PG)
  • Curriculum enhancement
  • Management of Head of Undergraduate Programmes, Head of Graduate School, Dean of Research & Enterprise, Head of Junior RNCM and others with cognate areas of responsibility (Music Education; Professional Skills; English Language Support; Learning Support)
  • Memberships (incl.) Executive Team; Strategic Planning and Resource Committee;  Academic Board
  • Teaching UG and PG
  • Research supervision

Professor Martin Harlow studied music at the University of Durham (BA, 1985) before training in London, including at the National Centre for Orchestral Studies (Dip.NCOS, 1986). After working as a professional clarinettist he took a senior lectureship at Birmingham Conservatoire (1995). He has higher degrees from the University of Sheffield (MPhil, 1996; PhD, 2004). He was appointed Head of Undergraduate Studies at the RNCM in 2001, Dean of Academic Studies (2009), then Director of Studies (2013). He was made Fellow of the RNCM in 2008.

The focus of current research is the music of Mozart. His edited book Mozart’s Chamber Music with Keyboard was published in 2012 (CUP); articles on Mozart’s writing process and implications for performance have recently appeared. Other work is in journals, including Musical Times, Acta Mozartiana and the Galpin Society Journal. A monograph, Mozart’s Harmoniemusik, is in preparation. His editions of Classical music have appeared from publishers including Bärenreiter and Ut Orpheus. These were used in collaborations with the Albion Ensemble, in recordings for Hyperion and Somm. An edition of chamber music by Anton Eberl appeared in 2013 (A-R Editions). He is currently preparing editions of nineteenth-century clarinet concertos by Jakob Philippe Riotte, and Iwan Müller.

Martin has taught undergraduates and postgraduates, and has supervised research degrees, primarily in his specialist field of Classical performance practice.

He had acted as external examiner and consultant for many UK conservatoires and universities, has been a principal examiner for A level provision, and is working on strategic boards of the new Music Education hubs. 

Current and Future Research

  • Mozart’s Harmoniemusik (monograph, in preparation)
  • Editions of Iwan Müller, Clarinet Concerto in D minor (1786–1854); Jakob Philippe Riotte, Clarinet Concerto in C minor (1776–1856)

College and External Research Roles

  • Member Research Committee

Undergraduate Teaching

  • Historical and Contextual Studies (Classical) UG1
  • Performance and Repertoire Studies UG1, UG2 (Classical), UG3
  • Electives UG3&4 including: Schubert’s Symphonies; Harmoniemusik 1760–1830; Mozart’s Chamber Music with Winds; Beethoven’s Sonatas for Violin and Piano; Understanding the Vienna of Haydn, Mozart and Beethoven

Postgraduate Teaching

  • Performance: Theory and Practice
  • Music Research in Practice

Research Supervision

  • Supervised Masters dissertations and projects including, as representative, ‘The String Quintets of George Onslow (1784–1853)’; ‘The Clarinet in the Symphonies of Christian Cannabich (1731–1798)’; ‘Pavel Wranitzky (1756–1808): The Symphonies in the Henry Watson Library, Manchester’.
  • MPhil including, as representative, ‘Beethoven’s Clarinets and Clarinettists’; ‘Alan Hacker: life, work, recordings, collaborations’
  • PhD including contemporary wind band conducting, contemporary clarinet
  • Current PGR supervisor: Rachel Johnson, Alicia Valoti


    Edited Books

  • Mozart’s Chamber Music with Keyboard, ed. by Martin Harlow, (Cambridge, UK: Cambridge University Press, 2012).
  • Journal Articles

  • Martin Harlow, ‘Interpreting articulation marks in Mozart’s Viennese Harmoniemusik’, Michaelsteiner Konferenzberichte, (2011).
  • Martin Harlow, ‘The Clarinet in works of Franz Xaver Süssmayr (1766–1803): Anton Stadler and the Mozartian example’, Acta Mozartiana 57/2, 147-65, (2010).
  • Review Articles

  • Review of Albert R.Rice, From the Clarinet d’Amour to the Contra bass: A History of Large Size Clarinets, 1740-1860, Galpin Society Journal, Martin Harlow, 2010
  • Scholarly Editions

  • Anton Eberl, Two Quintets with Piano and Winds, Martin Harlow, 2013, AR Editions, Wisconsin
  • Frantisek Skraup, Trio Op.27, Martin Harlow, 2008, Editio Barenreiter, Praha
  • Frantisek Skraup, Trio Op.28, Martin Harlow, 2008, Editio Barenreiter, Praha
  • Conference Contributions


COVID-19 Update: Our venues have reopened to the public and we’re looking forward to welcoming you back this Autumn. Before attending an event at the RNCM, please read our Audience Protocol…