Future Music #3 Unsupervised

The Machine Learning for Music (ML4M) Working Group

WED 16 JUN 2021 // Livestream 5pm – 8pm

Unsupervised is a new concert series created by the Machine Learning for Music (ML4M) Working Group – a community of composers and audiovisual artists exploring the creative use of emerging Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning technologies led by PRiSM Lecturer in Composition, Dr. Sam Salem and Professor Ricardo Climent, Professor of Interactive Music Composition and Director of NOVARS Research Centre at University of Manchester. 

ML4M includes postgraduate students from both RNCM and University of Manchester, as well as guest artists, supported by Machine Learning experts at the Alliance Manchester Business School and PRiSM. 

You can now watch Unsupervised, premiered as part of PRiSM Future Music #3, again below. See right to download a full programme including details on each new work and artist biographies.


5pm // Concert 1:

Tasos Asonitis, Symbiosis as a metaphor
Tywi J H Roberts, Blodeuwedd
Ellen Sargen, You may own us but we are going to inform on you
Chris Rhodes, Semiconductor

6pm // Panel Q&A

Led by Dr. Sam Salem (PRiSM) and Professor Ricardo Climent (NOVARS).

7pm // Concert 2:

Zakiya Leeming, Sad Dog Eating
Rob Laidlow, Rose Green
Vicky Clarke, Aura Machine
Hongshuo Fan, Metamorphosis

Share your reactions to Unsupervised

If you viewed one or more of the pieces from Unsupervised and have a few minutes to spare, our PRiSM Writer in Residence Abi Bliss would love to hear what you thought. Can you help her by filling in an anonymous survey to share your impressions of the music? Survey here.