All students receive a mixture of individual lessons and instrument-specific classes.

Brass students at the RNCM develop a broad range of professional skills, with studies in historical performance, chamber music, orchestral playing and jazz. International Professors from Europe and the US visit regularly to offer supplementary expertise.

Recent Masterclasses

There are frequent masterclasses given by internationally renowned brass players, which have recently included trumpeters Alison Balsom, Tine Thing Helseth, Philip Cobb, Anthony Plog, Steven Verhaert and Markus Stockhausen; trombonists Zoltan Kiss, Mark Templeton, Matthew Lewis and John Kenny; tuba players Daniel Trodden, Brian Earle, and Simon Styles; horn players Katy Woolley, Jacques Deleplancque, and Tommi Hyytinen; cornetists Alexis Demailly; and euphonium stars Phillippe Schwartz and, Robert Vos.


The College’s brass graduates have active careers working across the world as soloists, band and orchestra members and teachers, including:

John Barber: Principal Trombone, Foden’s Band
Richard Brown: Principal Trombone, BBC Philharmonic
David Childs: International soloist, Euphonium
Owen Farr: International Tenor Horn Soloist
Tom Hutchinson: Principal Cornet, Cory Band
Tim Jackson: Principal Horn, Royal Liverpool Philharmonic
Sam Jacobs: Principal Horn, New Zealand Symphony Orchestra
Simon Johnston: Principal Trombone, BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra
Katrina Marzella: International Baritone Soloist
Paul Milner: Principal Bass Trombone, London Symphony Orchestra
Mark O’Keeffe: Principal Trumpet, BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra
Tom Osborne: Associate Principal Trumpet, Hallé Orchestra
Ben Thomson: Principal Tuba, London Symphony Orchestra
David Thornton: International Euphonium Soloist and Conductor
Martin Winter: Associate Principal Trumpet, Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra
Dean Wright: Principal Trumpet, Welsh National Opera

Brass Staff

Head of School and Director of Brass
Murray Greig GMusRNCM, PPRNCM, MMus, FRNCM

Director of Brass Band Studies
Dr David Thornton BA, PPRNCM

Besson International Chair in Brass
Professor James Gourlay

International Chair in Brass Band
Professor David King

International Chair in Horn
Alberto Menendez

International Visiting Professor in Trumpet
Pacho Flores

International Visiting Professor in French Horn
José Vicente Castelló

International Visiting Professor in Trombone
Brandt Attema

International Visiting Professor in Euphonium
Thomas Ruedi

International Visiting Professor in Tuba
Ross Knight

Professors in French Horn
Lindsey Stoker GMusRNCM, PPRNCM
Timothy Jackson
Julian Plummer GRNCM, PPRNCM

Professors in Hand Horn
Rebecca Goldberg GRNCM, PPRNCM, PGDipRNCM

Professors in Trumpet
Murray Greig GMusRNCM, MMus, PPRNCM
Professor John Miller MA,FGS, FRNCM
Tom Osborne
Tracey Redfern BMus, PPRNCM, PGDipRNCM
David Hooper

Visiting Professor in Trumpet

Professor in Jazz Trumpet
Steve Waterman GTCL, HonARAM

Professor in Natural Trumpet
David Hendry GRNCM, PGDipRCM

Professor in Trombone
Katy Jones
Roger Cutts AGSM
Carol Jarvis
Gary MacPhee

Professor in Bass Trombone
Christian Jones

Professor in Sackbutt and Classical Trombone
Susan Addison ARCM(Hons), HonRAM, HonLRAM

Professors in Tuba
Brian Kingsley ARCM
Ewan Easton MBE
Robin Haggart BMus, LRAM, ARAM
Leslie Neish BMus (Hons), PGDip, PPRNCM

Besson Visiting Professor of Tuba
Leslie Neish BMus (Hons), PGDip, PPRNCM

Professors in Cornet
Professor Roger Webster MMus, PhD
Richard Marshall BA, LRSM

Professor in Tenor Horn
Owen Farr

Professors in Euphonium and Baritone Horn
Steven Mead BA, ALCM, FRNCM
Dr David Thornton BA, PPRNCM

Contact Us

School of Wind, Brass and Percussion 
E [email protected]
T 0161 907 5265

Admissions and Course Enquiries
E [email protected]
T 0161 907 5465

Also in this section...