JMIPC – RNCM James Mottram International Piano Competition

The seventh RNCM James Mottram International Piano Competition (JMIPC) will take place at the RNCM, Manchester, UK from Monday 23 November – Saturday 28 November 2020.

This major biennial event offers an all-round learning experience for young pianists under 30 from all over the world. We are delighted to be joined by the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra, who will accompany the soloists in the competition final in the RNCM Concert Hall.

There is a substantial prize fund including a first prize of £10,000, and the chance to gain a scholarship to study at the Royal Northern College of Music – home to a leading piano department. Travel bursaries are available to shortlisted participants who live outside of Europe.

All participants will receive invaluable learning opportunities: those who do not progress to the next stage of the competition will be given the opportunity to take part in a public masterclass given by a jury member during their time in Manchester.

Who was James Mottram?

The RNCM James Mottram International Piano Competition was inaugurated in 2008 thanks to a generous bequest from the late James Mottram. Mr Mottram was born in March 1930 in Stockport, Cheshire and studied Psychology at the University of Oxford. In 1961, he took up the post of lecturer in the School of Politics and Contemporary History at Salford University, before taking early retirement in 1982. Mr Mottram was a keen piano enthusiast, and particularly enjoyed the works of Scarlatti, Chopin and Debussy. It was his lifetime ambition to see an international piano competition staged in Manchester to celebrate the music of his favourite composers, and to provide a platform for the next generation of talented pianists.

Attending as An Audience Member

If you are interested in attending the events as an audience member, further information will be provided in early October 2020.

Competition Jury

Carlo Guaitoli (Italy)

Piers Lane (Australia)

Alexey Lebedev (Russia)

Robert McDonald (USA)

Noriko Ogawa (Japan)

Piotr Paleczny (Poland)

Niklas Pokki (Finland)

Graham Scott (UK, Chair)