RNCM Announces 2013 Fellows and Honorary Members

The RNCM is pleased to announce its 2013 Fellows and Honorary Members.

This year, following the College’s 40th anniversary celebrations, three distinguished musicians and educators have been chosen as Fellows of the RNCM (FRNCM), and two of the College’s loyal advocates and supporters as Honorary Members (HonRNCM).

Professor Jonathan Freeman-Attwood, Principal of the Royal Academy of Music, and Dr Paul Goodey, Director of Performance at the RNCM, will both be awarded Fellowships during the College’s annual Congregation of Awards, held on Tuesday 3 December, while Hungarian pianist András Schiff will be granted the same award during his concert at the RNCM on 19 November. Dr Ursula Jones, co-founder of the English Chamber Orchestra, and Dr Joyce Kennedy, author of several books about opera, will become Honorary Members during the December ceremony.

Since 1974, the RNCM has awarded numerous Fellowships and Honorary Memberships to world-renowned musicians, conductors, composers, educators, and advocates, including Placido Domingo, Sir John Dankworth, Dame Joan Sutherland, Dame Janet Baker, Sir Mark Elder, Hans Werner Henze and Sir Bernard Lovell.

17 October 2013