Trombonist Honoured with RNCM Fellowship

Trombonist and College alumnus Adrian Morris was recently awarded Fellowship of the RNCM (FRNCM), conferred upon distinguished musicians for service to music.

The Hallé’s Principal Bass Trombonist, who has also worked extensively with leading bands including Foden’s and Leyland, said he was ‘absolutely thrilled’ to have been made a Fellow of the College, describing it as a ‘real honour.’

The accolade was presented by RNCM Principal, Professor Linda Merrick and Professor John Miller, Head of School of Wind, Brass and Percussion, during a concert by the Black Dyke Band and RNCM Brass Band earlier this summer.

In addition to his performance career, Adrian, who studied a the RNCM in the 1980s, has been a member of the College’s teaching staff for over 15 years, during which time he said he has been ‘truly inspired by such talented students and colleagues.’

Since 1974, the RNCM has awarded numerous Fellowships and Honorary Memberships to world-renowned musicians, conductors, composers, educators, and advocates, including Placido Domingo, Sir John Dankworth, András Schiff, Dame Joan Sutherland, Dame Janet Baker, Sir Mark Elder, Hans Werner Henze and Sir Bernard Lovell.

28 August 2015