Student-Led Teaching Awards Celebrate RNCM Staff

The RNCM Students’ Union presented the second Student-Led Teaching Awards ceremony on 16 May, giving students the chance to celebrate and recognise RNCM Staff.

Over 40 nominations in four categories (Innovative Teaching Award, Employability Enhancement Award, Most Memorable Musical Moment Award and Positive Impact Award) were made by the whole student body over a two week period, with the Students’ Union making the final decision. The nominees were then invited to a ceremony in the Carole Nash Recital Room where the winners were announced.

Amy Webber, RNCM Students’ Union President, said: ‘The whole event was great success again this year and will continue to be something that the SU President will organise and run for years to come.’

And the winners are:

Positive Impact Award: Michelle Phillips (Assistant Course Leader, BMus), Tatyana Yekimova (Head of International Relations), Melanie Smith (Programme Administrator, Small Ensembles) and John Moth (receptionist)

Employability Award: Geoffrey Reed (Senior Lecturer in Music Education) and Murray Greig (Senior Tutor in Trumpet)

Innovative Teaching Award: David Horne (MPerf Course Leader, Assistant MMus/PGDip Course Leader, Tutor in Composition)

Most Memorable Musical Moment Award: Andy Stott (Course Director BA (Hons) Popular Music Performance) for the Session Orchestra’s Lunchtime Concert

9 June 2013