What's On

Yuanfan Yang (piano)

RNCM International Artist Diploma Recital

Wednesday 20 March 2024, 7.30pm

RNCM Carole Nash Recital Room

Edited 316DUX_0234-Molchanovsky-Alexei_1045

Our International Artist Diploma (IAD) represents the pinnacle of achievement in performance at the RNCM and welcomes a small number of artists each year who are on the cusp of international careers.

Each artist carefully curates their own programme of music to showcase their talent and artistic identity.

About Yuanfan:
Born in Edinburgh and living in Leeds, Yuanfan Yang is establishing himself as one of the most interesting and distinctive musical voices of today, as a multi-faceted award-winning pianist, composer, and improviser. He is a former first-class graduate of the Royal College of Music and the Royal Academy of Music in London. Yuanfan’s performances of Schumann and Liszt have been compared to the young Ashkenazy by International Piano Magazine, and his own compositions have been praised for their ‘soulful poignancy’ in The Observer.

Through his broad musical interests, Yuanfan performs a diverse range of repertoire, from Baroque to the contemporary, all reflected through his increasingly imaginative programming combinations that sometimes bind narrative, cultural, and aesthetic themes. His wide musical palette is also reflected through his own original music, where alongside instrumental and vocal music (not limited to classical) he has composed four full-scale piano concertos, which have all been performed throughout China, France, Russia and the UK. His ‘Piano Concerto No. 3 in Five Movements’ won 1st Prize & Gold Medal in the composition category of the Rachmaninoff International Music Competition in 2022.

Photo credit: Alexei Molchanovsky

Franz Schubert Drei Klavierstücke D 946
Béla Bartók
Piano Sonata Sz 80


Frédéric Chopin Étude in C major Op 10 No 1 ‘Waterfall’
Gabriel Fauré Barcarolle No 1 in A minor Op 26
Claude Debussy Reflets dans l’eau from Images Book I
Frédéric Chopin Barcarolle in F sharp major Op 60
Franz Liszt Orage from Années de pèlerinage I S 160

Yuanfan Yang Improvisations on Themes and Styles Suggested by the Audience

RNCM Member logo

£5 (Under 26s and Students) + £1 Booking Fee
£10 (Full) + £1 Booking Fee

This event will include a 20 minute interval and will end at approximately 9.30pm.

Book Now
Wednesday 20 March 2024, 7.30pm - Tickets from £6