The RNCM Centre for Practice & Research in Science & Music

PRiSM logo with text

PRiSM is the Centre for Practice & Research in Science & Music at the Royal Northern College of Music, directed by composer Emily Howard (Professor of Composition, RNCM) and co-directed by mathematician Marcus du Sautoy (Simonyi Professor for the Public Understanding of Science and Professor of Mathematics, University of Oxford).

At its core, PRiSM is a collaborative, interdisciplinary research environment. Working with our members, students, guest artists and scientists, we are developing a novel collaborative method. PRiSM allows new interdisciplinary expertise to emerge: it encourages the development of new languages and new works that explore the limits of those languages.

This week – PRiSM Future Music #3 16-17 June 2021


The first RNCM PRiSM Future Music festival ran in 2019, examining developments in new music and technology – Artificial Intelligence, Virtual Reality, Live Coding and more besides – asking what possibilities lay ahead for the music creators of the future. In Future Music #2, in 2020, we focussed in on Artificial Intelligence – examining how we might use technology to work creatively together in new ways.

This year, we celebrate our love of cross-disciplinary collaboration. We’re excited to link machine learning specialists with audiovisual artists, and to hear health data researchers perform music created from their own COVID-19 experiences. We’re thrilled to present The Awesome Machinery of Nature, a new work commissioned especially for Future Music #3 by our first PRiSM Scientist in Residence, Memo Akten. Emily Howard, Director PRiSM

All Future Music events will be livestreamed here or available through @RNCMVoice on Twitter.

PRiSM doctoral studentship opportunities

Sounds and Silences in the Archives of Empire
An AHRC Collaborative Doctoral Partnership (CDP) in Music Composition between PRiSM and The National Archives.
See here for more details and how to apply.
Closing date 27 June 2021



COVID-19 Update: In order to provide the best possible student experience over the coming months and to ensure maximum access for staff and students while social distancing is in place, the RNCM will remain closed to the public until further notice. More information...