PRiSM Team

The PRiSM Team

Director: Professor Emily Howard (RNCM)
Co-Director: Professor Marcus du Sautoy (University of Oxford)
Technical Director Professor David De Roure (Oxford e-Research Centre)
PRiSM Lecturer in Composition: Dr Sam Salem (RNCM)
PRiSM Research Software Engineer: Dr Christopher Melen (RNCM)
PRiSM Centre Manager: Dr Sam Duffy (RNCM)
Music Perception Lead: Dr Michelle Phillips (RNCM)
Performance and Vocal Studies Lead: Professor Lynne Dawson (RNCM)
PRiSM Associate: Professor Lasse Rempe-Gillen (University of Liverpool)
PRiSM Associate: Professor Rachel Bearon (University of Liverpool)

PRiSM Doctoral Researchers

Director PRiSM

Professor Emily Howard
Composer and Professor of Composition, RNCM

Co-Director PRiSM

Professor Marcus du Sautoy

Simonyi Professor for the Public Understanding of Science and Professor of Mathematics, University of Oxford

Music Perception Lead PRiSM

Dr Michelle Phillips

Assistant Head of Undergraduate Programmes, RNCM

Professor Lynne Dawson
Head of School of Vocal Studies and Opera, RNCM

Professor David De Roure
Professor of e-Research, Oxford e-Research Centre

Professor Lasse Rempe-Gillen
Professor of Pure Mathematics, University of Liverpool

External Partner

Oxford e-Research Centre, University of Oxford
(Lead: Professor David De Roure – Professor of e-Research)

External Collaborators

  • Department of Mathematics, University of Liverpool (Lead: Professor Kurt Langfeld – Head of Mathematics Sciences, University of Liverpool)
  • Piatti String Quartet
  • Manchester Science Festival
  • Manchester Metropolitan University
  • New Scientist


For further information or to get in touch, please contact


Also in this section...